SAA, TAAG sign code-share agreement

10th January 2018 By: Schalk Burger - Creamer Media Senior Contributing Editor

State-owned airline South African Airways (SAA) and Angola State-owned airline TAAG Angola Airlines on Wednesday announced a code-share agreement for flights between Luanda and Cape Town or Johannesburg.

“SAA will code-share with TAAG on direct services between Johannesburg and Luanda and between Cape Town and Luanda, effective January 2015,” SAA spokesperson Tlali Tlali said.

In return, TAAG Angola Airlines will code-share with SAA on its direct services between Johannesburg and Luanda and will include Johannesburg and Harare, Johannesburg and Lusaka, and Johannesburg and Hong Kong in the near future.

A code-share agreement enables SAA to offer flights with the SA code on flights operated by TAAG, and TAAG will, in turn, be able to offer flights with the DT code on flights operated by SAA, SAA said in a statement.

“SAA is progressively implementing its five-year corporate plan aimed at achieving and maintaining financial sustainability in the shortest time possible. SAA’s Alliance Strategy reinforces the Network Strategy to strengthen its position in sub-Saharan Africa through forming new partnerships, such as this one,” Tlali said.

“The code-share relationship between TAAG and SAA is a strong partnership and we are pleased to work together in developing our route networks further for the benefit of all our customers. We are confident that this code-share opportunity will bring our countries closer together and contribute to the development of our respective economies and tourism industries,” said TAAG chief commercial officer William Boulter.